The Trusted Name In Music Since 1955!


Sonatina Opus 36 - Clementi (Individual Sonatinas)

Alfred Publishing

Edited by Willard Palmer 


Sonatina in G Major - #2

This three-movement piece in G major was written by Muzio Clementi, considered by many to be the father of the Classical piano sonata. Noted musicologist Willard A. Palmer edited this version for the Alfred Masterworks collection. Included are footnotes with performance suggestions based on Clementi's "Introduction to the Art of Playing on the Pianoforte." This is an excellent recital piece for the developing piano student, with many sixteenth-note passages in both hands. Dotted rhythms are used throughout the second movement in 3/4 meter.

Sonatina in C Major - #3

This is "the other" C major sonatina by the "Sonatina Master," with many classical technique characteristics to master, including scale work, contrasting touch, trills, and a variety of tempos and shadings of expression. This edition contains footnotes and performance suggestions by Willard Palmer.